Review by Zyllah Moranne-Brown.

Candice Gordon is definitely one of the more interesting and intriguing propositions in the music scene 2017. In the world of singer / songwriters, pop and various takers on indie, Gordon takes her inspiration from the darker side of brooding sonic landscapes beautifully and intrinsically bound together in haunting melodies and lyrical prowess in a post- post punk generation.

Candice Gordon by Maren Michaelis-800

Gordon grew up in Dublin, Ireland and after a somewhat a nomadic lifestyle, now resides in Berlin. She’s took to the stage at Bestival, Body and Soul, Electric Picnic and Truck Festival, and supported and shared them with the likes of Shane MacGowan, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, The Horrors, and Kurt Vile and the Violators.

Candice Gordon is certainly on the darker side of the musical divide – haunting vocals – a modern day Siouxsie Sioux with glimmers of the darker side of PJ Harvey, the Bad Seeds et al. Her brand new outing ‘Garden of Beasts’ is produced by labelmate A.S. Fanning, and mixed by Ingo Krauss (Swans, Iggy and the Stooges), and was recorded in a country house in Ireland and at the legendary Funkhaus in Berlin.

After the intro track ‘A Herd’, the truly mesmerising ‘Smoke In The Air’ rolls and rolls, delectably menacing Banshee like, Gordon’s enthralling vocals rolling round the track – to a spiral crescendo.

“Garden of Beasts is inspired by moving to Berlin and observing the very dark and heavy history that is visible and inescapable everywhere in the city. It’s an exploration of human nature, the hubris of identity, dispossession, and the conflict between the allure of savagery that is in all humans and the desperation for salvation from that.” explains Candice.

‘Hive Mind’ is funkier and punk but no less dark; “I don’t know what I stand for and I’m not sure if I’m here at all…” ‘Nobody’ has an alternate violin, folk theme “Look at me – I’m not nobody…” Gordon takes the goth side and yet punk, she’s no shy retiring violet, her lyrics as boundless and her musical experimentation. Instrumentally she likes to play, experimenting with different instruments, sounds, musical cultures from folk, post-punk, oriental and everything in between.

‘In Gold Dreams’ is her new single, out now, a ballad, slow, with Gordon’s haunting vocal taking the fore, with a beautifully mesmeric chorus. Keep an eye out for Candice Gordon – she is definitely one to watch out for – certainly if you like the darker side of the alternative.

Candice Gordon has upcoming dates across Germany, she will be at Servant Jazz Quarters in London on 27th September and is a must to check out.

Candice Gordon’s Debut Album “Garden Of Beasts” out September 8th via Proper Octopus Records.

‘Garden of Beasts’ Tracklisting:

1. A Herd
2. Smoke In the Air
3. Hive Mind
4. I Belong to the Night
5. Nobody
6. The Child
7. Tomorrow
8. The Kill
9. Freedom, A Beautiful Illusion
10. The Laws ofd Nature
11. Goddess of Mercy
12. Flocks
13. In Gold Dreams

Leave a Reply